Warren Samuels Prize

The Warren Samuels Prize is awarded to a paper, presented at the January ASSA meetings, that best exemplifies scholarly work that:

  • Is of high quality,
  • Is important to the project of social economics,
  • Has broad appeal across disciplines.

It is preferable, but not required, that the paper is presented at one of the ASSA sessions sponsored by the Association for Social Economics. Papers will not normally exceed 6,500 words (inclusive of references, notes), and should follow the style guidelines for the Review of Social Economy.

The winner of the prize will be announced during the ASE presidential breakfast, to which the winner is invited. The winning paper may, subject to peer review, be published in a subsequent issue of the Review of Social Economy. The winner of the Warren Samuels Prize receives a $500 stipend.

The selection committee consists of:

The immediate Past-President of the ASE;
A Co-editor of the Review of Social Economy (Chair);
A member of the Editorial Board, Review of Social Economy.

Past Recipients:

2008 Robert Scott and Steve Pressman
2010 Edward J. Kane
2012 Carl Wennerlind
2013 Mary Wrenn
2014 Steven McMullen and Daniel Molling
2015 Robert Garnett

2016 Lindsey K. Novak

2017 Alexander Guschanski & Özlem Onaran 

The recipients for the 2016 ASSA meetings are Simon Cornee, University of Rennes 1, and Panu Kalmi, University of Vaasa, and Ariane Szafarz, Universite Libre de Bruxelles, for their paper "Selectivity and Transparency in Social Benking:  Evidence from Europe".