William R. Waters Research Grant 

The William R. Waters Research Grant was established in 1999 in honor of William R. Waters, editor of the Review of Social Economy for many years and President of ASE in 1987.  The grant was first awarded for Summer, 2000.

The purpose of the William R. Waters Research Grant Program is to inspire scholars to organize their research in social economics and social economy along the lines suggested by William Waters in his 1988 presidential address to the Association for Social Economics.

The major concern of social economics is explaining the economy in its broadest aspects; that is, showing how human beings deal with the ordinary business of using human and physical resources to achieve a level of material comfort. Explanation includes cultural, political, and ethical details as they are needed for a full understanding. As in any economics, there are three parts to social economics. First is the philosophical base of the social economist, which may or may not be a reflection of the philosophical base or ethos of the society he/she is studying. Social economics (or any economics) builds upon it. It is the hard core as in the recent popular literature of the philosophy of science. The second part of the discipline is a description of the significant characteristics of the economy. The economist must observe the multiplicity of economic reality and abstract those characteristics that are substantive. The two together, the philosophical premises and the empirical observations, will determine the third part of the discipline, social economic policy. Policy formulation is thus a mix of the first two. [William R. Waters, presidential address, “Social Economics: A Solidarist Perspective,” Review of Social Economy, 1988, p. 113 ff.].

The research grant is for promising graduate students in Ph.D. programs who have not yet completed their dissertation, those holding post-doctoral positions, and for new faculty members who have not yet been granted tenure or who are tenured but have not yet achieved the rank of Associate Professor (or its equivalent outside the US). The current amount of the annual grant is up to $5000.

The deadline for submitting applications for the William R. Waters Research Grant is November 30th, 2018. The grant will be disbursed in January, and is intended to support research undertaken in 2018. The grant can be very beneficial to scholars beginning their career.

“The [William Waters] grant had a very positive impact on my career. It allowed me to buy out time to research the impact that the social turn in economics had on gender and economic development policy at the World Bank. The research resulted in a couple of well-placed publications that influenced debates in the field, and helped me to receive tenure also.” - Suzanne L. Bergeron, Director of Women's and Gender Studies, University of Michigan Dearborn, grant recipient 2004.

Previous Recipients of the William R. Waters

  • 2000 - Diane M. Dewar, University of Albany, State University of New York
  • 2001 - Ellen Mutari, Richard Stockton College, New Jersey
  • 2002 - Wilfred Dolfsma, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • 2003 - Lisa Giddings, University of Wisconsin at Lacrosse
  • 2004 - Suzanne L. Bergeron, Notre Dame
  • 2006 - Kellin Chandler Stanfield, DePauw University
  • 2007 - Tonia Warnecke, Notre Dame
  • 2008 - Aurelie Charles, University of Leeds, UK
  • 2009 - Wesley Pech, Wofford College, and Parker Wheatley, College of St. Benedict, MN, USA
  • 2010 - Emcet Otay Tas, American University; Christopher Jeffords, University of Connecticut, and Marya Hillesland, American University
  • 2012 - Charalampos Konstantinidis, University of Massachusetts-Amherst and Abilasha Srivastava, American University
  • 2013 - Daniel MacDonald, University of Massachusetts, Amherst and Diksha Arora, University of Utah.
  • 2014 - Josie I. Chen, Brown University
  • 2015 - Caroline Hossein, York University, and Francisco Fernandez de Castro, University of California – Irvine
  • 2016 - Merve Burnazoglu, Utrecht University School of Economics
  • 2017 - Yasaman Sarabi, University of Greenwich, and Zoe Sherman, Merrimack College
  • 2018 - Ana Portocarrero, International Institute of Social Studies, and Chimedlkham Zorigtbaatar, University of Utah
  • 2019 - Thereza Balliester Reis, Leeds University Business School