Named for one of the founders of the Association for Social Economics, the Thomas F. Divine Award is presented annually to someone who over a lifetime has made important contributions to social economics and the social economy. The Award takes the form of a framed certificate and a $1,000 cash stipend. The Award is formally presented by the Association at the Presidential Breakfast at the annual meetings.


2023 George DeMartino
Jessica Gordon-Nembhard
2021 Morris Altman
Evelyn Forget
Katherine Gibson & Julie Graham (“J.K. Gibson-Graham”)
 Ellen Mutari
2017 Philip Arestis
2016 Robert W. Dimand
2015 Deborah Figart
2014 Irene van Staveren
2013 Julie A. Nelson
2012 Marianne A. Ferber
2011 Edward J. Kane
2010 David L. George
2009 John P. Tiemstra
2008 Jon D. Wisman
2007 John B. Davis
2006 Charles K. Wilber
2005 Ingrid H. Rima
2004 Daniel R. Finn
2003 Ed O’Boyle
2002 Ron Stanfield
2001 Bill Dugger
2000 Mark Lutz
1999 Severyn Bruyn
1998 Hans Jensen
1997 Warren Samuels and Sister Catherine Knoop, CSJ
1996 John O’Brien and Richard Mulcahy
1995 Walter Adams and Lewis Hill
1994 Wallace Peterson
1993 Stephen Worland
1992 Kendall Cochran
1991 John Elliott
1990 Joseph Becker
1989 Peter Danner and George Rohrlich
1988 Joseph Solterer
1987 Franz Mueller